Education and Study · Travel

Where Do We Go From Here?

When you finish college, almost everyone expects you to go to university. You’re expected to get a degree, get a job, get a house, get married and have kids, and that’s it, that’s your life. We’re programmed by our teachers to think that your only path is to apply through UCAS and pray you get the grades to meet your offers. For the girl who has wanderlust running through her veins and the world at her fingertips, that wasn’t enough.

I wanted nothing more than to just travel until I found somewhere to settle. I wanted to see as much as I could and just never stop going. My mum, however, had other ideas. It was then that we came to a compromise. I would go to university abroad, doing a degree that would give me opportunities to work and study in other countries, allowing me to get the best of both worlds.

On Thursday the 12th of January 2017, I received an email saying I had been accepted into Utrecht University of Applied Sciences to study International Business Management. As part of my degree I’ll get to do a study abroad programme and complete two internships at companies of my choice, and hopefully one of them will lead to a job, so who knows where I’ll end up.

I’ve seen a lot of places, but I’ve lived in the same town in the North West of England since the day I was born. The first time I ever move will be to somewhere I’m going to live alone. It’s kind of scary knowing that I’ll be going to a new country by myself and living there but it’s also extremely exciting. It’s like a fresh canvas and literally anything can happen.

So in late August, I’ll pack my bags and leave this town, and in late September, so will most of my friends. We’ve wanted to get out for so long, and after years of waiting, it feels strange that its going to happen soon. It doesn’t seem real.

There are so many things that I will miss; the park, the high street, the food (especially the pies), the people. But they will still be here when I come back. My days in this town are numbered, and I think after all these years, I’ll actually start to appreciate the beauty there is here.

I hope the world takes you to wherever you want to go, but I hope that at some point, it brings you home.

Love, Georgie xo

One thought on “Where Do We Go From Here?

Leave a Reply

